FCBD 2015!

FCBD

Yep – I was able to score some of this year’s offerings, thanks again to Forbidden Planet. Then the nephew and I took a ride downtown, and I got a Bahn Mi and some other goodies.

So, without further ado:

Kodansha Comics – Attack On Titan

Avatar: The Last Airbender – Dark Horse

The All-New, All-Different Avengers – Marvel

Bob’s Burgers – Dynamite

Bongo Comics Free-For-All! – Bongo

Ten Year Celebration – Boom!

Dark Circle Comics FCBD – Dark Circle

Divergence – DC

Doctor Who – Titan

Fight Club – Dark Horse

Hip-Hop Family Tree Three-In-One – Fantagraphics

MegaMan/Sonic The Hedgehog: Worlds Unite Preview – Archie

Pokemon – Perfect Square

Secret Wars #0 – Marvel

Super Mutant Magic Academy – Drawn & Quarterly

Teen Titans Go!/Scooby Doo Team-Up – DC

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – IDW

Terrible Lizard – Oni Press

Valiant 25th Anniversary Special – VALIANT

So…that’s what I got, along with a Forbidden Planet sticker – nice! If I’d had gotten there earlier, I probably could have snagged a copy of the Savage Dragon Legacy book. Erik Larsen puts out a good book, and I like to support a guy who continues to put forth such effort – I also want to note Herb Trimpe’s passing. Ben Herman put together a great restrospective at his site. Erik had Herb pencil and ink his work on Savage Dragon #200.

As to what I’m looking forward to perusing…I’m going to check them all out. First, of course, was Secret Wars. It will be interesting to see if Marvel can pull this off; presumably, Steve Rogers will regain some measure of his Super-Soldier formula; something will happen to the Hulk/Doc Green; we get an all-female Avengers…but oddly enough, it feels a little bit like a Marvel version of Twilight of the Superheroes, without the murder mystery or John Constantine. Maybe I will be pleasantly surprised.

Divergence, on the other hand, looks to be utterly confusing. Superman’s civilian identity has been released to the world, and the best he could do was to wear a hoodie and hang out with Jimmy Olsen?!?

Yeah…

I was pleasantly surprised by Bloodshot #1 by VALIANT (capitalizing as per Big Jim), so their FCBD release should have something good.

I’m a fan of Teen Titans Go!, but their madcap hilarity may not work so well in a comic….but LOVE the Batman plushie!

If anything really pops, I’ll update the entry here…and no – I haven’t seen Avengers – Age of Ultron as of yet. Hearing good things, though – I’m glad of that. So, only that, Guardians of the Galaxy and Thor: the Dark World, and my Marvel Cinematic Universe will be complete.

About Vin the Comics Guy

My Name is Vin, and I have a personal collection of over 17,000 comic books. My earliest book is a copy of Garrison’s Gorrilas, from 1939.
This entry was posted in Books, Comics, Movies, Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FCBD 2015!

  1. Thanks for the link to my blog post about Herb Trimpe!

    I was also at Forbidden Planet for Free Comic Book Day. I finally got into the store around 11:00 AM, after waiting on line 45 minutes. Like yourself, I missed out on the Savage Dragon issue (drat!) but I was thrilled to get the other books that they had, especially the Bob’s Burgers, Bongo Comics, Doctor Who, and Teen Titans Go ones.

  2. rexvmundi says:

    I was right in front of you, I think – I had a foot brace on!

Leave a Reply

