Comics and Other Media

It’s been a while since I have been able to enjoy life like a normal person. Suffice it to say, it’s been nearly three years, and I’m still not yet recovered.

You may notice that I’ve updated my Gravatar – that is a picture of my sweet li’l grrl, Becca. She isn’t with me, but I love her and miss her dearly.

She has her own li’l comics collection.

I caught The Flash on CW and Agent Carter – and I was glad to have done so!

GG Flash

I was with The Flash from the beginning, but I’ve missed a couple of episodes – this episode introduced Firestorm, the Nuclear Man. Of course, his origin is slightly altered, so the emblem from his costume is incorporated into the device that ultimately saves his life and Central City.

Agent Carter

Agent Carter is a fantastic show – Hayley Atwell is awesome and fierce – not to mention beautiful. I will make the effort to catch the last episodes, and I will catch up this weekend if possible.

A quick word regarding the Marvel Universe (MU) versus the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) – what we get are reimagined characters and concepts…to wit:

Roger Dooley

Dooley Ac sshgn18

In the MCU, Dooley is a fairly principled character who reached his rank by dint of hard work and dedication; however, in the MU, ol’ Rog likes to see titties as much as possible, and forced Jennifer Walters, the Sensational She-Hulk to strip, not once, but twice. Dooley is the fellow threatening Wyatt Wingfoot in the scene from Marvel Graphic Novel #18 by John Byrne, Kim deMulder, Petra Scotese and Janice Chiang.

While DC excelled in the concept of Elseworlds (a refining of the What-If concept imagined by Roy Thomas), Marvel cemented it in the advent of the Ultimate Universe, conceived by Joe Quesada and the late Bill Jemas. Many of those UU concepts have been adapted for use in both the MU and the MCU – paramount in that is the Samuel Jackson-themed Nick Fury character. Mark Millar struck gold with this idea; it may have proved his entry into the world of movies. The Secret Service (renamed Kingsmen) looks to be interesting. I wonder how true it is to the book by Millar and Dave Gibbons.

I’d like to see Supercrooks adapted to a television series. The smart money would be to make the pilot episode a number of vignettes of the actual theft, interspersed with intros of the thieves. Then flashback to the Bastard’s crime career, eventually coming to the present day and the theft of his life savings.

Oh…you didn’t read Supercrooks yet? Whaddaya want from me?

On the subject of Millar, I’d like to talk briefly on The Authority #28, the book that broke the Morrison/Millar pairing in two, never to be together again.

I have the trade paperback of that arc, which includes Tom Peyer and Dustin Nguyen’s New World Order, commissioned due to Frank Quitely’s being wooed away to drawing Morrison’s New X-Men. Quitely was replaced by Art Adams, who drew two incredible issues before the art nannies of DC pissed him off and he quit before completing the last issue, which was done by Gary Erskine. Gary attempted to emulate a faux-Adams style, while I though failed in comparison to his original style of art, which was rich with detail…but I digress.

I seemed to have an incredible attraction to #28, more so than to the other chapters, and before I had an idea in regards to the authorship of the book in question, I could never quite put my finger on it.

Reading Brian Cronin’s Comic Book Legends Revealed, that information came to light, and things began to make sense.

In this case, the student has not yet surpassed the master. I’m not counting success in getting movies adapted as progress; as well as Zack Snyder adapted Watchmen to the screen, changing the ending only made to segue into an easy sequel, as removing the exploding squid nullified the motivations of nearly all of the characters in the movie.

Think about it:

What drove Edward Morgan Blake crazy? There never was an exploding squid.

Adrian Veidt was able to set up intrinsic field generators in the short time Jon Osterman was away from Earth? Implausible.

Night Owl’s (Hollis Mason) death was rendered absolutely wasted by the fact that there would not be any sort of karmic retribution – none of the KT-28 heads died at the Pale Horse Concert.

None of the bit characters that Alan Moore used to flesh out the neo-Charlton characters had any true reason to be in the movie – the Bernards don’t die in each others arms; the Big Figure is just comedy relief; Adrian’s staff don’t need to be killed because the “master plan” involves simply blaming Jon.

I think Alan hates each and every movie adaptation made from his stories; and honestly, his books weren’t designed to be adapted as movies. Every time I read Watchmen, invariably, something new will jump out at me from some previously read panel.

That’s NEVER going to happen from re-watching the movie.

This is much the same experience from re-reading The Authority #28.

As one commenter indicated, “Religimon” should have been a hint that I was reading something other than a Mark Millar jam.

Here’s an example of the censorship that drove Art from the book (no pun intended):

A28gm

There’s also the infamous scene where the Midnighter, not dead from Three-Willie Seth’s attack, pops a bolt through the head of faux-Apollo Teuton, right before he rapes Apollo. The scene was changed to only display the bolt impacting the skin in the front of Teuton’s skull (a funny callback to Elektra’s sais completely running through human bodies, but never the backs of clothing). Apparently, that was just too bloody much. Of course, Millar’s first arc detailed yet another rape upon the person of Apollo by the Commander, a Captain America analogue (John Walker mixed with Neil Patrick Harris), which concluded with the Midnighter taking a jackhammer to the sphincter of the Commander, as well as using one of the Commander’s teammate’s own mace as a butt plug.

Yes…you read that right – go and read The Authority #16.

HULK2014009-int-2-3-b267c1

Gerry Duggan is doing yeoman service writing the Hulk. Mark Waid left him with an interesting cliffhanger, and he did wonders with it. Doc Green is the perfect progression for the big green guy, though you and I all know that it can’t last. Will it parallel Flowers for Algernon in some fashion? Bruce Banner came as close to death as one could come.

Will Doc Green ever yearn for Betty Ross?

Will Leucenstern be seen again?

Will Rick borrow Miss Thing’s exo-suit?

And…what’s Project Green? It’s obviously some sort of fail-safe for the formerly gamma-powered, but in what fashion?

We are only 10 books away from seeing the third chapter of The Silver Age. The “Silver Age” of what, you say?

miracleman15-00 MM15NewCover

MIRACLEMAN.

Nemesis” came out, and it looks to me that the redone lettering takes away somewhat from the menace of the issue. Not appreciably, but I do have the original issues, and I searched long and wide to complete that collection.

I still can’t quite fathom that this is happening.

I actually wrote an email to “The Original Writer” regarding the cliffhanger in #24.

I didn’t get an answer – maybe that was for the best.

So…of all of the Marvel movies yet released, I haven’t yet seen Thor: The Dark World and Guardians of the Galaxy. I won’t count Ant-Man…too new.

hell-comes-to-frogtown-4

Let me end this for now with a notification to find a copy of Hell Comes To Frogtown – starring “Rowdy” Roddy Piper. Leave the brains in another room and just enjoy.

About Vin the Comics Guy

My Name is Vin, and I have a personal collection of over 17,000 comic books. My earliest book is a copy of Garrison’s Gorrilas, from 1939.
This entry was posted in Books, Comics, Movies, Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

