Free Comic Book Day 2010

And what a day it was!

I want to begin by thanking Forbidden Planet for making FCBD 2010 a no-brainer – please be sure to check out their store. The staff are friendly and helpful, as they have been ever since I first perused their store – they used to be across the street and down the block a bit at 813 Broadway…I still even have a couple of their old bags. I got there just after 10:00 AM this morning, and was greeted with a fast-moving line and a professional distribution process – once again, thanks to the FP staff for their professionalism.

So…without further ado, let’s see what was offered this year – I went and ate at a Chinese buffet today, and I passed out during my perusal of the books, so I haven’t read them all as of yet, but I’m going to list each and every one, along with their publishers. Flip books will see both titles mentioned in the same listing.

In no particular order:

The Library Of American Comics Presents: Blondie/Secret Agent Corrigan X-9 (IDW)
Jim Henson’s Fraggle Rock/Mouse Guard (Archaia)
The Stuff Of Legend/Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments – City Of Bones (Third World Studios)
War Of The Supermen (DC)
Sonic The Hedgehog – Hide, Seek & Destroy (Archie)
The Puppy Sister/Fame – Lady Gaga (Bluewater)
Driver For The Dead/The Rising/After Dark/Time Bomb (Radical Publishing)
Weathercraft and Other Unusual tales (Fantagraphics Publishing)
DC Kids Mega Sampler 2010 (DC)
Doctor Solar – Man Of The Atom/Magnus Robot Fighter (Dark Horse Publishing)
Owly And Friends! (Top Shelf Productions)
The ONI Press Free For All #1 (ONI Press)
Artifacts (Top Cow Productions)
Archie’s Summer Special #1 (Archie)
Bongo Comics Free-For-All (Bongo Entertainment)
Atomic Robo (Red 5 Comics)
Fearless Dawn #1 (Asylum Press)
G.I. Joe – A Real American Hero #155&1/2 (IDW)
YOW! Drawn & Quarterly Presents A John Stanley Library Grab-Bag (D&Q)
Toy Story (BOOM! Studios)
The Tick (New England Comics Press)
Storm Lion #0 (Storm Lion Publishing)
Worlds Of Aspen 2010 (Aspen MLT)
Fractured Fables (Image)
Shrek/The Penguins Of Madagascar (Kizoic)
The Sixth Gun (ONI Press)
Del Rey Showcase – Pride And Prejudice And Zombies/The Talisman: The Road Of Trials/Odd Is On Our Side/The Last Airbender: Prequel: Zuko’s Story (Quirk Productions)
Green Hornet (Dynamite)
Iron Man/Nova (Marvel)
Irredeemable/Incorruptible #1 (BOOM! Studios)
Love And Capes (Maerkle Press)
Iron Man/Thor (Marvel)
The Overstreet Guide To Collecting Comics (Gemstone Publishing)
Dope Flounder [Mature Readers] (Tugboat Press)

As I indicated earlier, I haven’t read more than a handful as of this writing, but the next two books definitely on my must-read list are War Of The Supermen and Doctor Solar/Magnus – we’ve just witnessed the return of Superman to the DC Universe proper, after his sojourn as Commander Kal-El, and I wasn’t aware that Jim Shooter was able to regain control over the Gold Key characters he made household names back in the 90’s, much less that their being published at Dark Horse, but from what I see, everything looks great! Dennis Calero’s visuals are excellent, and one couldn’t get a better draftsman than Bill Reinhold to draw Magnus.

My daughter now has her second round of comics – Mouse Guard should be a real hit with her – the graphics resemble many of her children’s books, and what child should grow up without having knowledge of the Muppet characters? Of course, she loves the Mna Mna video…I’m hoping to have her sit through the episode of the Muppet Show with Louis "Satchmo" Armstrong. No guarantees, of course.

My nephew, of course, couldn’t contain his excitement – I still have a huge pile of books to make it through. Have a great weekend, everyone.

About Vin the Comics Guy

My Name is Vin, and I have a personal collection of over 17,000 comic books. My earliest book is a copy of Garrison’s Gorrilas, from 1939.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

